Language Info, Language Notes

Language Update

Happy Easter Sunday word fans!

It’s been a while huh? Things have been pretty hectic around here. I’ve spent the best part of the new year moving house from UK to Gran Canaria as well as keeping on track with my Open University degree in Language Studies.

But I’m back! So, here’s a quick update of where we’re at with the current languages :

  • Spanish – currently blasting through my OU Module, which ends in May. I’m so pleased with my scores so far, the lowest has been an 88% (85% or more is a distinction) I’ve also signed up to an A2 Spanish class at the local language school to improve my speaking skills, which has been great so far.
  • Chinese – I am loving Chinese and as with Spanish am due to complete the OU Module in June – all my grades so far are in the upper 90s which I’m super pleased with. I need to find a way to converse with others next and sort out a follow on course for after this one as the OU only offers Basic Level.
  • German – As of this week I finally settled on German as my second language for my degree, though this may change to French before October! I started to revisit German in October but gave up so I am starting from scratch as of now! I have enrolled provisionally on the A2 course so have a lot of work to do!
  • Russian – well where do I start. I can still recall the entire Cyrillic alphabet, and many basic words but am nowhere near having a conversation, even a very simple one. I don’t want to give up but due to the fact it’s not one of my assessed languages it’s taken a back seat.
  • French – Once I’ve got back in to at least a basic conversational level in German I will be picking French back up to see how much I recall from school. If it goes well I’ll continue and it becomes an option to take in October in place of German.

April Goals

This month there is a language challenge being hosted by Joy of Languages which I’m going to join in with!

What to do –

1. Post a picture or video and write/say something about your day in the language you’re learning, every day in April.
2. Use the hashtag #languagediarychallenge and tag @joyoflanguages.
3. Don’t forget to follow @joyoflanguages

I’m hoping to do as many of my languages as possible for as many days as possible; Spanish, German, Chinese are the main three followed by French and Russian.

I think this challenge is great! It gives you the opportunity to think of new things to say or new ways to say old things, expand your vocabulary, improve verb usage AND potentially bump in to other learners along the way!

(Did I mention there’s a $10 iTalki voucher up for grabs too??)

April 1st is also a great excuse to start my language journal! More on that in my next post! Prepare yourself for language spreads, Vocabulary habit trackers and all things cute and language themed!

So what are we waiting for? Let’s get started!

Leave a comment